Elitloppet weekend kicks off with world record performance by Wild Love

Elitloppet weekend kicks off with world record performance by Wild Love

May 29, 2021

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The first heat of Sweden’s biggest race goes to post this morning at 9:30 (Eastern) at Solvalla. The Elitloppet final will start at 12:10 p.m. (Eastern).

by Thomas Hedlund

The $241,000 Harper Hanover’s race over three kilometers kicked off Solvalla’s Elitloppet weekend with excitement on Saturday afternoon (May 29).

Fourteen trotters chased the big trophy and early leader Maestro Crowe (paired with Johan Untersteiner) kept the pace at high level throughout the entire race, until the last turn when the more merited horses from behind caught up with the front horse.

First choice Who’s Who left third over and attacked three wide with a lap to go and behind him 7-year-old mare Wild Love (Love You) followed.

Driver Kevin Oscarsson waited on Who’s Who’s back and used his mare’s great speed over the stretch. Wild Love sprinted to a safe win in a world record mile rate of 1:55.3 over 1.95 miles (replay here).

Billie de Montfort wins Lady Snärt

In the $53,000 Lady Snärt’s race for mares, French superstar Billie de Montfort (Jasmin de Flore) and Gabriele Gelormini kept the lead from post 1 and via a very fast last quarter, the opponents had to chase medals others than gold. Billie de Montfort, trained by Sébastien Guarato, has participated in Elitloppet in previous years and has charmed the spectators with her speed and great abilities for 5/8 mile tracks.

The French star came home in a strong 1:51.4 mile (replay here).

Elitloppet today starting at 9:30 a.m. (Eastern)

The first heat of today’s (May 30) Elitloppet is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. CET (9:30 a.m. Eastern), followed by the second heat at 4 p.m. CET (10 a.m. Eastern). The final will take place at 6:10 p.m. (CET) (12:10 p.m. (Eastern time)).

The races are reportedly available for viewing on both TVG in the United States and HPI in Canada and may also be viewed on: https://www.swedishhorseracing.com/. Our Elitloppet preview was published Friday (full story here).

Please enter a valid email address.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.
Harness Racing Update

SUBSCRIBE FOR FREE TO

HARNESS RACING UPDATE

%d bloggers like this: