Lotteria in Naples painted in yellow

by Thomas Hedlund

Alessandro Gocciadoro dominated the big $725,000 Gran Premio della Lotteria in Naples, Italy, on Monday afternoon (May 1).

Gocciadoro had the favorite Vivid Wise As in the first elimination, but the Yankee Glide son had to capitulate after a first over trip when leader Usain Töll was too hard to beat.

The second elimination was won by the Fabrice Souloy trained Capital Mail, driven by Gabriele Gelormini and the third winner in the elimination heats was Gocciadoro’s Vernissage Grif (Varenne).

In the final, Capital Mail was sent to the lead after 400 meters, with Usain Töll in the pocket and that left Vernissage Grif in the tough position outside the leader. Vernissage Grif looked strong on the outside and had power to hold second over trotter Bleff Dipa behind him in the stretch.

The 9-year-old Varenne son won in a stake’s record 1:52 and the yellow-suited Gocciadoro claimed the trophy in Naples for the second year in a row, with the same horse.

Elitloppet invitee Vivid Wise As got a tough three-wide trip in the final and finished seventh.


Finland’s most prestigious race for the elite, the $240,000 Finlandia-ajo, is scheduled at Vermo racetrack on Sunday afternoon (May 7).

A 10-horse strong field will battle for a ticket to the Elitloppet as the winner will receive an invitation to Solvalla later this month. Don Fanucci Zet, who is already bound for the Elitloppet, drew post 10, while quick starters like Stoletheshow and Shackhills Twister will begin from post four and one, respectively.


Horse — Driver

1. Shackhills Twister — Jari Kinnunen

2. Hede Darling — Björn Goop

3. Bengurion Jet — Alessandro Gocciadoro

4. Stoletheshow — Magnus A Djuse

5. Global Withdrawl — Santtu Raitala

6. Hierro Boko — Jarmo Saarela

7. Mister F. Daag — Robin Bakker

8. Click Bait — Per Lennartsson

9. Run For Royalty — Janne Korpi

10. Don Fanucci Zet — Örjan Kihlström


Björn Goop-trained San Moteur was scratched before the start in one of the elimination races ahead of the $290,000 Paralympiatravet, but the rules say that he can get a wild card entry for the final from Åby and that’s what happened. San Moteur got a wild card and will enter Åby racetrack as the heavy favorite in Saturday’s race (May 6). The Paralympiatravet final is a top-class race over 1.3 miles and behind the probable favorite, interesting horses such as Jimmy Ferro B.R. and Mister Hercules chase for big money.

The same race card includes two group 1 races for 4-year-old trotters. The $195,000 Kungapokalen for colts and geldings and the $195,000 Drottningpokalen for mares are both very interesting races where the fans’ curiosity regarding Joviality will be answered. Jovialty impressed a lot in her elimination at Åby two weeks ago and Courant Stable’s 4-year-old will be the horse to beat.


2,140 meters

Horse (Sire) — Driver

1. Riverdale Z. (Maharajah) — Conrad Lugauer

2. O’Mara Zon (Maharajah) — Daniel Wäjersten

3. Kayla Westwood (Maharajah) — Magnus A Djuse

4. Joviality (Chapter Seven) — Erik Adielsson

5. Mellby Korall (Maharajah) — Johan Untersteiner

6. Stens Retention (Raja Mirchi) — Peter Untersteiner

7. Lawina (Uncle Lasse) — Carl Johan Jepson

8. Sommerbrise (Maharajah) — Per Nordström

9. Jiggi (Raja Mirchi) — Björn Goop

10. Beauvoir (Executive Caviar) — Mats E Djuse

11. Jade Sisu (Ready Cash) — Jorma Kontio

12. High Hope Lee (Propulsion) — Adrian Kolgjini


2,140 meters

Horse (Sire) — Driver

1. Dancer Brodde (Bold Eagle) — Johan Untersteiner

2. Following (Nuncio) — Carl Johan Jepson

3. Bedazzled Sox (Brillantissime) — Torbjörn Jansson

4. Tetrick Wania (Muscle Hill) — Conrad Lugauer

5. Dareios di Poggio (Father Patrick) — Björn Goop

6. Thereisnolimit (Nuncio) — Ulf Ohlsson

7. Ante la Roque (Uncle Lasse) — Erik Adielsson

8. Hustle Rain (Raja Mirchi) — Magnus A Djuse

9. H.C.’s Crazy Horse (S.J.’s Caviar) — Daniel Wäjersten

10. Friend Of Elves (Oasis Bi) — Mats E Djuse

11. Jikken (Propulsion) — Örjan Kihlström

12. Coquaholy (Orlando Vici) — Kim Eriksson


2,140 meters

Horse — Driver

1. Milliondollarrhyme — Fredrik B Larsson

2. Chapuy — Åke Lindblom

3. Mister Hercules — Örjan Kihlström

4. Cicero T.G. — Magnus Teien Gundersen

5. Rackham — Christoffer Eriksson

6. San Moteur — Björn Goop

7. Hades de Vandel — Robin Bakker

8. Emoji — Flemming Jensen

9. Jimmy Ferro B.R. — Alessandro Gocciadoro

10. Bilo Jepson — Carl Johan Jepson