Cokstile brilliant in Helsinki

Cokstile brilliant in Helsinki

May 5, 2022

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

by Thomas Hedlund

The $200,000 Finlandia-ajo mile-long race was held at Vermo racetrack in Helsinki, Finland on Sunday (May 1) afternoon and when the bettors’ top choices faded, an old fighter showed he still belongs in elite races in Europe.

Cokstile (Quite Easy), trained in Italy by Erik Bondo and driven by Swedish driver Christoffer Eriksson, had to face a first over trip as first choice Bepi Bi controlled the field in front.

The winner of Elitloppet 2020, Cokstile earned another ticket for Elitloppet by winning the Finlandia-ajo with a 1:52.2 track record.

The Norwegian-bred trotter is now ready for his fourth attempt in Solvalla’s big mile race later this month.

Stoletheshow finished strongly as the runner up, while Gareth Boko claimed the bronze medal.

“Cokstile is a fantastic horse and he has competed on a very high level during many years. He came to this race after a strong meeting in France, even if the result weren’t as good as expected,” said Eriksson.

Bepi Bi, trained and driven by Alessandro Gocciadoro couldn’t defend himself in the race’s final stage and the Italian trainer announced, before the Finlandia-ajo, that Bepi Bi’s next objective will be Sweden Cup at Solvalla during the Elitloppet weekend.


Åby racetrack in Sweden plays host to a really nice race card this Saturday (May 7) when the $315,000 Paralympiatravet final highlights the day.

In addition, the $205,000 Kungapokalen and $205,000 Drottningpokalen for 4-year-olds are on the menu.

The Paralympiatravet over 2,140 meters looks to be an interesting race where title defender Delia du Pommereux (Niky) enters the race after a positive performance in the Prix de l’Atlantique at Enghien and she will face tough opponents like Who’s Who, Extreme and Upstate Face, among others.


2,140 meters

Horse – Sire – Driver

  1. Extreme – Chocolatier – Björn Goop
  2. Upstate Face – Joke Face – Adrian Kolgjini
  3. Delia du Pommereux – Niky – David Thomain
  4. Who’s Who – Maharajah – Örjan Kihlström
  5. Born Unicorn – Raja Mirchi – Magnus A Djuse
  6. Spickleback Face – Raja Mirchi – Daniel Wäjersten
  7. Best Ofdream Trio – Nad Al Sheba – Kim Eriksson
  8. Night Brodde – Up And Quick – Conrad Lugauer
  9. Mindyourvalue W.F. – Hövding Lavec – Robert Bergh
  10. Pacific Face – Igor November – Guiseppe Lubrano

Åby race card, click here. 


Please enter a valid email address.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.
Harness Racing Update