Where are the women?

Where are the women?

December 22, 2021

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

by Bob Heyden

Just three of the 70 winners of the Bergstein/Proximity Award have been women — Gail Cunard, Margot Taylor and her daughter Ellen Taylor.

What gives here guys?

Meanwhile, just two of the 58 winners of the Good Guy Award have been women — JoAnn Looney-King in 2015 and Dorothy Haughton in 1996. Perhaps a name change might help.

Unsung heroes

Now we’re talking.

Twelve of the 19 winners of the Unsung Hero Award have been women.

The most recent are: Wanda Polisseni in 2019, Betty Holt in 2017, Barb Brody in 2016, Joanne Young in 2015, Dot Morgan in 2012 and Ann Curran in 2008.

Rising Star

We lost two Rising Star winners in the past year: 1994 winner Jack Baggitt, Jr. and 1999 winner Eric Ledford.

Speaking of those we’ve lost…

The first 37 elected to the Communicators Corner have now passed.

Pelling paradox

Brett Pelling last won the Trainer of the Year Award in 1998. Interesting that he won the Meadowlands Pace the year before that (Dream Away) and the North America Cup and Meadowlands Pace the year after (The Panderosa).

Burroughs stumper

Interesting that Mal Burroughs was the 1994 and 1996 Amateur Driver of the Year, but did not win the award the year he won the Hambletonian, as an amateur driver, with Malabar Man in 1997.

75 years and counting

It’s been 75 years now and still no trotting Horse of the Year has sired a Horse of the Year HOY

Right now, the only three in play would be Muscle Hill (2009), Donato Hanover (2007) and Chapter Seven (2012). For 3/4s of a CENTURY!

But, there’s plenty of time. Muscle Hill in 2022 is 15, Donato is 18 and Chapter Seven just 14.

Please enter a valid email address.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.
Harness Racing Update